D-20P

D-20PFirst Russian Turbofan Aviation Engine

By the end of the 40s of the past century, the potential of the piston-type engines was fully exhausted. After the Second World War, practically all the engine designing companies were actively involved with the aviation gas turbine engines development. Perm designers focused on that task in 1953, when Pavel Solovyov headed Experimental and Design Bureau No. 19.

The Perm Design Bureau performed great amount of work on studying different schemes of air-breathing engines, and chose the advanced turbofan engine which provided for the fuel savings at all the engine modes and especially at high subsonic flying speeds. The idea of the turbofan engine had been earlier proposed by prominent Soviet aviation engine designer A.M. Lyulka.

In 1956, the development of twin-spool augmented turbofan engine D-20 started. The plan was to install the engine on A.N. Tupolev’s bomber. Five prototype engines were produced; however, the aircraft project was abandoned.

In 1960, the first serial turbofan two-shaft D-20P (P for “passenger”) was developed on the basis of the D-20 twin-spool augmented turbofan engine. The successful state tests of the engine confirmed its bypass scheme as a principal scheme in the domestic aviation engine building.

Setting up the D-20P production at Y.M. Sverdlov serial plant (now UEC-PM) was not easy. Even qualified assemblers could not quickly catch all the technical specifics of the new engine. It was necessary to quickly solve all the discovered issues associated with manufacturing and testing of the engines. For this, the first leading brigade on supervising the D-20P serial manufacturing was created in 1961. It helped to solve such defects as engine vibration, sparking at the nozzle labyrinth contact with the turbine disks, resonance oscillations of the LPC 1 stage blades and others.

The D-20P engine became the first domestic serial turbofan two-shaft engine. 1795 engines D-20P were manufactured in total.

The D-20P engine with 5 400 kgf thrust was widely used as part of the propulsion unit of the first domestic short-haul passenger aircraft Tu-124 developed by Andrey Tupolev’s Design Bureau.

In 1961, augmented turbojet one-shaft engine D-21 was developed on the basis of D-20P. The new engine was meant for powering the all-weather strategic spy, which was the first airplane in the world capable of air observation at supersonic speed and at 1700 km distance away from the home aerodrome. Although the plane was developed by Experimental Design Bureau No. 256 headed by P. V. Tsybin, it shared the same destiny with the engine and was not produced in series.

Д-20П

Д-20ППервый отечественный турбореактивный двухконтурный авиационный двигатель

К концу 40-х гг. прошлого столетия возможности поршневых моторов оказались полностью исчерпаны. После Второй Мировой войны практически все конструкторские двигателестроительные фирмы активно занимались разработкой авиационных газотурбинных двигателей.  Пермские конструкторы вплотную приступили к их разработке в 1953 году, когда ОКБ-19 возглавил Павел Александрович Соловьев.

    В пермском КБ был проведен большой объем работ по исследованию различных схем воздушно-реактивных дви­гателей, в результате чего была выбрана перспективная схема двухконтурного турбореактивного двигателя, обеспе­чивающая топливную экономичность на всех режимах работы двигателя и, особенно, на  высоких дозвуковых скоростях полета. Идею двухконтурного турбореактивного двигателя в свое время предложил замечательный советский авиаконструктор А.М. Люлька

    В 1956 году было начато проектирование двухкаскадного турбореактивного двухконтурного двигателя Д-20 с форсажной камерой (ТРДДФ), который предполагалось использовать на бомбардировщике А.Н. Туполева. Было изготовлено пять опытных двигателей, однако, проект самолета был закрыт

    В 1960 году под руководством Павла Соловьева на базе ТРДДФ Д-20 соз­дается первый серийный двухконтурный турбореактивный двухвальный двигатель Д-20П (П – пассажирский).  Его успешные государствен­ные испытания утвердили двухконтурную схему как основ­ную в отечественном авиадвигателестроении.

    Непросто шло освоение Д-20П на серийном заводе имени Я. М. Свердлова (ныне «ОДК-ПМ»). Даже квалифи­цированные сборщики не сразу смогли уловить все техни­ческие особенности нового двигателя. Было необходимо быстро решать возникающие вопросы по изготовлению и испытанию изделий. Для этой цели в 1961 году была создана первая ведущая бригада по серийному сопровождению двигателя Д-20П. С ее помощью были устранены такие дефекты, как вибрация двигателя, искрение при задевании лабиринтов сопловых аппаратов о диски турбины, резонансные колеба­ния рабочих лопаток первой ступени компрессора низкого давления и др.

    Двигатель Д-20П стал первым отечественным серийным двухконтурным двухвальным двигателем. Всего было изготовлено 1795 двигателей Д-20П

    Двигатель Д-20П тягой 5 400 кгс широко использовался в составе силовой установки первого отечественного ближ­немагистрального реактивного пассажирского самолета Ту-124 разработки конструкторского бюро Андрея Туполева.

        В 1961 году на базе Д-20П разработан турборе­активный одновальный двухконтурный двигатель Д-21 с форсажной каме­рой для всепогодного стратегического разведчика – первого в мире самолета, способного вести авиаразведку на сверхзвуке на удалении более 1 700 км от аэродрома базирования. Несмотря на то, что самолет был создан в ОКБ-256 под руководством П.В. Цыбина, он, как и двигатель, серийно не выпускался.

Сайт разработан РЦИ ПНИПУ, 2014 г.